A Tradition of Service, Focused On Achieving Positive Results
Strong Defense Against Aggravated DUI
Minnesota drunk driving penalties increase exponentially with every repeat offense. With each aggravating factor related to your DWI arrest — such as BAC levels that are twice the legal limit, the presence of a minor child in the vehicle, or each prior DWI incident within the past 10 years — you could face enhanced jail time, fines, license suspension and additional DWI penalties, if convicted.
The stakes are high in an aggravated DWI/DUI case. It is critically important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who will aggressively fight to protect your rights. Contact a Minnesota aggravated DWI lawyer at Coodin & Overson, PLLP, in Lake Elmo, for representation in the St. Paul/Minneapolis metro area.
Harsh Consequences Of Repeat DWI Convictions
Repeat offenders who have had prior DWI convictions within the previous 10 years of their current offense can face the following penalties if convicted for their repeat DWI offense:
- Second-offense DWI: Individuals who have had one prior DWI incident within the last 10 years may face third-degree DWI, or maybe even a second-degree DWI if there are additional aggravating factors (both third-degree and second-degree charges are gross misdemeanors). If convicted, you could face a minimum 30 days in jail and a $3,000 fine.
- Third-offense DWI: Individuals who have had two prior DWI incidents within the last 10 years face second-degree DWI charges (a gross misdemeanor). If convicted, you could face a minimum 90 days in jail and a $3,000 fine.
- Fourth-offense DWI: Individuals who have had three or more prior DWI incidents within the last 10 years face first-degree DWI charges (felony DWI). If convicted, you could face a minimum 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $14,000.
Extended License Revocation For Repeat DWI Offenders
DWI/DUI offenders are facing the loss of their licenses for an extended period of time. Effective July 1, 2011, license suspension periods will be extended for individuals convicted for driving while impaired, if they have prior DWI incidents on their record — even if the prior incidents did not result in a conviction. Under the new laws, an individual could face the following mandatory minimum license revocation or licenses suspension periods:
second offense DUI/DWI: one year (two years if BAC was over .16)
third offense DUI/DWI: three years
fourth offense DUI/DWI: four years
fifth offense DUI/DWI or more: six years
Additional aggravating factors can result in longer suspension periods. For example, individuals with high BAC levels of twice the legal limit will be subject to suspension periods that are doubled. In other cases, where the individual’s drunk driving resulted in serious injury or death of another person, the individual convicted of drunk driving will face an additional 90-days license suspension.
Ignition interlock devices are now required by all drivers who have had three or more DWI convictions.
Contact An Experienced Minnesota DWI/DUI Attorney
With Minnesota’s DWI laws getting tougher each year, it is imperative to hire a skilled drunk driving defense or felony DUI/DWI defense lawyer who is knowledgeable of Minnesota laws, but who also has the necessary negotiating and trial skills to effectively represent your interests. Contact our Twin Cities metro law firm at 651-319-5180 to schedule a free initial consultation with a criminal defense attorney who will protect your rights.